Ghost Towns in the Smokies

My favorite part of our hiking adventures was stumbling upon this neighborhood of abandoned houses, simply rotting into the forestry like some kind of ode to dystopian architecture.

This location is apparently known as the Elkmont Historic District. Starting as a logging camp at the end of the 1800’s, it developed into a tourist resort until the 1990’s where the project was abandoned. Currently there is controversy over what to do with these remaining buildings, whether to demolish or maintain. My vote goes towards the second option, but that’s just me, someone tragically in love with decomposing houses.

I’ve been reading / watching too much about zombie apocalypses, but it feels like it could have been directly taken out of The Walking Dead. The aesthetics are spot on.

I do wonder though, of the lives of those who last lived here and if this place is still in their memories. And if so, what life was like back when business flourished here.

Walking past the historic district, we continued onto Jake’s Creek trail – our originally intended target, though for the me, the ghost town had already imprinted itself as the highlight for the day.

4 thoughts on “Ghost Towns in the Smokies

  1. Great post! We share a common interest. My latest post is about a ghost town in the San Juan Mountains in Colorado. I do love the Smokies. Cades Cove is a fun place to photograph too.

    1. Thanks for reading Denise! Wow we really do! πŸ™‚ I love your scenic shots of the abandoned houses against the mountain ranges – your photography and vision is simply beautiful.

      I adore the Smokies as well! If you haven’t visited the Elkmont Historic District, I highly recommend it πŸ˜€

  2. I love old houses!!! About two summers ago my sister and I went hiking and we found this entire town that seemed kinda abandoned and so scary lol so silly but for a second we thought we wouldn’t be able to get out haha! It was real fun!!!

    1. Hi Sari, thanks for reading! Its good to hear I’m not alone on my love for old houses! πŸ™‚

      Haha, that sounds like a lot fun though I would probably chicken out and run off after five seconds!! Thanks for sharing your memorable experience XD

Leave a Reply

