My Experience in an Ancient Town: Fengjing

IMG_3336

My day trip to Fengjing ~ a small water town on the outskirts of Shanghai. Fengjing is one of the area’s ancient towns and is popular with Chinese tourists as a little day get-away.

IMG_3341

But before entering the town central, we made an important stop….

IMG_3268

This is my ideal bus ride snack ~~ Soymilk pudding and crust-less sandwich with egg salad filling.
IMG_3277

My grandfather died in 2008 and I’ve never gotten the chance to properly pay respects and visit his grave in Fengjing. My two aunts took the day off to accompany me on an hour bus trip to the outskirts of the city

The area of my grandfather’s grave. The way they have it set up is that you buy the grave stone for both the husband and wife, so when my grandmother passes away in the future, there will already be a spot set aside for her ashes. IMG_3274

IMG_3282

We found my great-grandmother’s grave after a long tiring search of wadding through tight dirt paths and jumping over fallen debris. She was buried by the river, near her own sister. While she died before my birth, my father always spoke of her fondly. He had lived with her until his college years, until her death, in a small room. I think it brings back sad memories for him, so he doesn’t speak of her often.

IMG_3327

Away from the depressing grave site and into the colorful town! Fengjing reminds me of a village that doesn’t age, one that has sleep all these years and is still soaking in the warmth of the sun. Then again, Fengjing is an ancient town of more than 1500 years, its spirit of architecture and crafts still clings onto unsuspecting visitors.

IMG_3307

I’m serious. If you want a true experience of China, instead of only heading to all the touristy locations, make a few day trips to the ancient towns. They are everything and anything I have ever wanted from a trip to China – gorgeous, stunning, aged, lasting, enchanting and most importantly dripping with culture and history.IMG_3308

Basically this is the touristy part of China for Chinese native tourists!IMG_3285

There were also pet stores ~IMG_3324

This lady had gathered such a crowd, people pushing in line for her products.IMG_3354

IMG_3357

IMG_3359

Two men playing cards.IMG_3291

Mao poster in the back! Spotted.IMG_3293

IMG_3317

IMG_3319

Worn good luck signs plastered on the door.IMG_3331

Lady wrapping Zhongzi ~  IMG_3366

On our way out, these cute little stacks of flower crowns were spotted!

IMG_3365

One last look before our departure.

8 thoughts on “My Experience in an Ancient Town: Fengjing

    1. Hey JPei, thank you for reading ^^ and I hope you do get the chance to go back and visit sometime soon 🙂
      May I ask where your family is from?
      -Nysha

  1. It was disheartening to read about your family having to tear up the flowers before placing them down.

    I’ll be visiting Shanghai this summer and planned to visit Zhujiajiao – another water town. Are you familiar with that one? I’d be interested to also visit Fengjing.

    1. Thank you for reading Deb 🙂
      Yes, it was quite a culture shock when my aunt told me about the grave robbers 😦 I hope over these next years there will be less people having to resort to that.

      Yay! That’s exciting 😀 Is this your first time visiting Shanghai?

      Zhujiajiao is similiar to Fengjing, though more popular. You’ll definitely enjoy the local food, desserts, and marketplace 😀 While I haven’t visited there yet, my parents have and they both say that its a charming place!

      And yes, Fengjing is a must! If you do visit, let me know how it goes ^^
      Have a wonderful time travling!

      1. It’s my first time visiting Shanghai. As a matter of fact, it’s my first time visiting China! Thanks for the suggestions – I hope to make it out to either Zhujiajiao or Fengjing. Looking at your photos it seems unspoilt from major tourism 🙂

Leave a Reply

